Buying guide
Social media MCP servers compared: which tools let your AI assistant post
An MCP server lets Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor or another AI assistant work inside your social media tool: draft a post, schedule it, check how last week went. On 22 October 2026 we found fifteen social media tools with an official server, and they differ a lot in sign in, plan access and what the assistant may do.
Up to 14 days free. Card required, but you won't be charged before the trial ends. Cancel anytime.
Last updated: 2026-10-22
TL;DR: Fifteen social media tools publish an official MCP server or connector (checked 22 October 2026): Postify, Buffer, Metricool, Publer, Planable, Vista Social, Hootsuite, Agorapulse, Postiz, Zernio, Blotato, Ayrshare, SocialPilot, Zoho Social and Planoly. Buffer and Metricool include it on free plans, Postify on every plan. Planable only creates drafts, Ayrshare needs an API key, and Postiz can be self hosted.
By the Postify team at Businice S.R.L. Postify makes this site. We list ourselves first and say where other tools are stronger.
Which social media tools have an official MCP server?
Fifteen, by our count on 22 October 2026: Postify, Buffer, Metricool, Publer, Planable, Vista Social, Hootsuite, Agorapulse, Postiz, Zernio, Blotato, Ayrshare, SocialPilot, Zoho Social and Planoly publish an official MCP server or connector. Claims that only one social media tool has an official server are out of date. We found none for Later, Sprout Social or SocialBee.
This space moves monthly. Publer, for example, had only community servers until it launched its own at mcp.publer.com. Each row is based on the vendor page listed under sources, with the date we read it, so expect details to change.
| Tool | Hosting | Sign in | Assistants documented | Plan access | What it can do |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Postify | Hosted | OAuth | Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, VS Code and more | Every plan | Posts, queue, analytics, inbox, link in bio; separate Ads server |
| Buffer | Hosted | OAuth or personal API key | Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, Perplexity and more | Every plan, Free included | Create and schedule posts, manage the queue, save ideas |
| Metricool | Hosted | OAuth or API token | Claude, ChatGPT (developer mode), Cursor and more | Every plan, Free included | Schedule and edit posts, analytics, competitor data, best times |
| Publer | Hosted | OAuth or scoped API key | Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and others | Business and Enterprise | Workspaces, drafts, scheduling; analytics if the key allows it |
| Planable | Hosted | Not stated | Claude, ChatGPT | Free 50-post start, then Basic and up | Creates drafts; nothing publishes until a person approves |
| Vista Social | Hosted | Personal URL with the API key built in | Claude, ChatGPT | All four plans | Scheduling, analytics, calendar, approvals |
| Hootsuite | Hosted, one server per product | OAuth | ChatGPT, Claude, Copilot, Gemini | Standard and up; Lumen on Enterprise only | Publishing, inbox, analytics and listening, employee advocacy |
| Agorapulse | Described as self hosted | Not stated | ChatGPT, Claude | Every plan | Create and optimize social content |
| Postiz | Hosted, or self hosted (open source) | OAuth | Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, Codex | Every plan | Posts across the networks Postiz supports |
| Zernio | Hosted | OAuth, or API key for agents | Claude, ChatGPT, Codex, Cursor and more | Usage based, 2 accounts free | Every API endpoint: posts, DMs, ads, analytics |
| Blotato | Hosted | OAuth in Claude, API key elsewhere | Claude, Cursor, Codex; ChatGPT on paid accounts | Paid plans, not during the trial | 35 tools across nine networks |
| Ayrshare | Hosted | API key only | Claude Code, Cursor, n8n | API plans; profiles need Business | Publish, history and analytics, comments and DMs, profiles |
| SocialPilot | Not stated | Not stated | Claude, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Cursor and more | Every plan | Not detailed on the plans page |
| Zoho Social | Hosted through Zoho MCP | Not stated | Not stated | Needs an active Zoho Social account | 31 Zoho Social tools |
| Planoly | Hosted | Not stated | Claude | Not stated | Publish to the networks you connected in Planoly |
| Later, Sprout Social, SocialBee | None found | n/a | n/a | n/a | No official MCP server on their sites |
What to compare before you connect one
Compare six things: how you sign in (OAuth is safer than pasting an API key), whether the assistant can publish or only draft, the published rate limits, whether inbox and analytics are covered, whether ad accounts are covered, and which plans include the server. The networks the tool supports set the ceiling on all of it.
- Sign in: with OAuth the assistant gets a revocable token after you sign in. An API key sits in a config file or the server URL, so treat it like a password; key-only servers suit Claude Code and Cursor more than claude.ai.
- Write scope: some servers publish, some only create drafts (Planable). Scoped keys, like Publer's, limit what the assistant can touch.
- Rate limits: few vendors publish one; without it, a large batch may be throttled.
- Inbox and analytics: posting is common, replying and reporting less so. Check the action list.
- Ads: Metricool covers ad account data, Zernio exposes ads through its API, and Postify runs a separate Ads server. Most of the rest are organic only.
- Plan gating: Buffer and Metricool include it on free plans, Publer only on Business and Enterprise, Blotato not during its trial.
Postify's MCP server
Postify's server at https://api.postify.tech/mcp uses OAuth sign in, works with Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, VS Code and other MCP clients, and is included on every plan. It has more than 70 tools covering posts, queues, analytics, inbox and link in bio, plus a separate Postify Ads server. Limits are 120 requests a minute.
We make Postify, so here are the specifics to check us against. The server uses Streamable HTTP and OAuth 2.1 with PKCE, so there is no API key to leak, and each user gets 120 requests and 20 writes a minute. It publishes to nine platforms: Instagram (through Instagram Login), Facebook, Threads, LinkedIn, TikTok, YouTube, X, Pinterest and Plative.
Queue, recurring posts and the inbox follow your plan, from Plus. The Ads server at https://api.postify.tech/ads/mcp handles Meta, Google Ads, TikTok, LinkedIn, Pinterest and OpenAI Ads campaigns, and Postify Ads is its own subscription.
Two honest limits: we have not yet confirmed a full Postify session in ChatGPT (Claude is confirmed), and Postify has no public REST API, Zapier or Make integration, so MCP is the programmatic route.
Self hosting or open source options
Postiz is the open source option: its code is published under the AGPL-3.0 license, so you can run it on your own server, and its hosted MCP server comes with every paid plan. For tools without an official server, community MCP servers exist on GitHub, but they are unofficial and can break without warning.
Self hosting trades a subscription for upkeep: you run the server, apply updates and keep each network's app credentials valid yourself.
Be careful with community servers. Some use unofficial APIs or browser automation, which most networks' terms forbid, and a server holding your API key can do anything that key allows. Check the vendor's docs first: an official server may already exist, as happened with Publer.
| Tool | Best for | Pricing |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Postify | One assistant connector for posting, queue, inbox and analytics on every plan | From €9.99 per month (€8.33 billed yearly) up to €199.94 per month; the MCP server is on every plan |
| 2. Buffer | A free plan with an official MCP server | Free for 3 channels (10 scheduled posts each); Essentials $6 per channel per month ($5 billed yearly); Team $12 ($10 billed yearly) |
| 3. Metricool | Analytics and competitor data through your assistant | Free plan for 1 brand and 20 posts a month (no LinkedIn or X); paid plans per brand bundle on the pricing page |
| 4. Publer | Teams on Publer Business that want scoped assistant access | Free forever plan (no X); the MCP server needs a Business or Enterprise plan |
| 5. Planable | Agencies that want AI drafts behind a human approval step | First 50 posts free; paid plans per workspace; the MCP connector works during the free start and on Basic, Pro and Enterprise |
| 6. Vista Social | Teams on Vista Social that want scheduling and approvals by chat | Professional $99 per month, Advanced $199, Scale $449, Enterprise custom; 14-day free trial, no card |
| 7. Hootsuite | Enterprises that want separate connectors per Hootsuite product | Standard $99 per user per month billed annually; 14-day free trial |
| 8. Agorapulse | Agorapulse customers who want ChatGPT or Claude to draft content | Standard $99 per user per month billed monthly ($79 billed yearly); 30-day free trial, no card |
| 9. Postiz | Developers who want open source code and a hosted MCP | Standard $29 per month ($23 billed yearly) up to Ultimate $99; 7-day free trial; open source code to self host |
| 10. Zernio | Developers and agents that need the whole API through MCP | First 2 accounts free (no card), then $6 per account per month for accounts 3 to 10, $3 for 11 to 100, $1 beyond |
| 11. Blotato | Creators who want an assistant to publish content across networks | Starter $29 per month; 7-day trial with a card, without API or MCP access |
| 12. Ayrshare | Developers building products on a social media API | Premium $149 per month, Launch $299 (28-day free trial), Business from $599 |
| 13. SocialPilot | Agencies on SocialPilot that want an assistant on every plan | Essentials $20 per month ($17 billed annually) up to Ultimate $200 ($170); 14-day trial with no card |
| 14. Zoho Social | Teams already on Zoho apps | Standard $15 per month ($10 billed yearly) up to Agency Plus $460 ($330); the free plan has no scheduling |
| 15. Planoly | Visual planners who use Claude | Starter $16 per month ($14 billed annually); Growth $28 ($24); Pro $55 ($47); free tier in the mobile app |
1. Postify
One assistant connector for posting, queue, inbox and analytics on every plan
Postify's MCP server lets your own AI assistant run your Postify account: create, schedule and publish posts to nine platforms, manage the queue and recurring posts, read analytics and work in the inbox. A separate Postify Ads server covers six ad networks.
Pros
- Included on every plan, Hobby included
- More than 70 tools: posts, queue, recurring posts, analytics, inbox and automations, link in bio
- Published limits: 120 requests and 20 writes a minute per user
- Separate Ads server for Meta, Google Ads, TikTok, LinkedIn, Pinterest and OpenAI Ads
Cons
- ChatGPT not yet confirmed end to end (Claude is), and not in ChatGPT's app directory
- No Bluesky, Google Business Profile or Mastodon
- No free plan; Hobby is 1 brand, 15 posts a month and no inbox
- No public REST API, Zapier or Make: MCP is the programmatic route
- Postify Ads is a separate subscription
Verdict: A good fit if you want one connector that posts, reads analytics and works the inbox, and your networks are among the nine it supports. If you need a free plan, Bluesky or Google Business Profile, Buffer or Metricool fit better.
Pricing: From €9.99 per month (€8.33 billed yearly) up to €199.94 per month; the MCP server is on every plan
2. Buffer
A free plan with an official MCP server
Buffer's official server lets the assistant create and schedule posts, manage the queue, save ideas and check upcoming content. Everything lands in your Buffer queue, and it is on every plan, Free included.
Pros
- On every plan, Free included
- Also publishes to Bluesky, Mastodon, Google Business Profile and Substack
Cons
- Priced per channel, so cost grows with every account you add
- The MCP page lists posting, queue and ideas actions, not inbox or analytics
Verdict: The easiest way to try an assistant connector without paying.
Pricing: Free for 3 channels (10 scheduled posts each); Essentials $6 per channel per month ($5 billed yearly); Team $12 ($10 billed yearly)
3. Metricool
Analytics and competitor data through your assistant
Metricool's hosted server reads and writes: schedule and edit posts, pull analytics, competitor data and best times. Its networks include Bluesky and Twitch plus Meta, Google and TikTok ad accounts, and the server code is public on GitHub.
Pros
- Included on the free plan
- Strong on analytics, competitors and best posting times
Cons
- The free plan has 1 brand and 20 posts a month, without LinkedIn or X
- ChatGPT is documented through developer mode
Verdict: The pick if you mostly want your assistant to report and analyze, with posting as a bonus.
Pricing: Free plan for 1 brand and 20 posts a month (no LinkedIn or X); paid plans per brand bundle on the pricing page
4. Publer
Teams on Publer Business that want scoped assistant access
Publer's official server lives at mcp.publer.com. Connect with OAuth, or with an API key whose scopes decide what the assistant can reach, such as workspaces, accounts and analytics.
Pros
- OAuth, or API keys with scopes to limit access
- Works with Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor
- A free forever plan to try Publer itself
Cons
- MCP only on Business and Enterprise plans
- The free plan does not include X
Verdict: Solid if you already run Publer on Business; scoped keys suit shared accounts.
Pricing: Free forever plan (no X); the MCP server needs a Business or Enterprise plan
5. Planable
Agencies that want AI drafts behind a human approval step
Planable connects Claude or ChatGPT to your workspace, alongside SE Ranking's MCP. The assistant creates drafts, and Planable is explicit that nothing publishes until a team member approves it.
Pros
- An approval gate by design, which suits clients and regulated brands
- Pairs with SE Ranking's MCP for content and SEO work
Cons
- The assistant cannot publish on its own
- Priced per workspace, which adds up across many clients
Verdict: The right choice when you want AI help but a person must sign off every post.
Pricing: First 50 posts free; paid plans per workspace; the MCP connector works during the free start and on Basic, Pro and Enterprise
6. Vista Social
Teams on Vista Social that want scheduling and approvals by chat
Each Vista Social account gets a unique MCP URL under Account Settings, Integrations, with the API key already inside it. The assistant can schedule posts, read analytics, check the calendar and handle approvals.
Pros
- On all four plans
- Covers approvals and analytics, not only posting
Cons
- The URL contains your API key, so it must be kept private like a password
- No free plan
Verdict: Good value inside Vista Social, as long as you treat the connector URL as a secret.
Pricing: Professional $99 per month, Advanced $199, Scale $449, Enterprise custom; 14-day free trial, no card
7. Hootsuite
Enterprises that want separate connectors per Hootsuite product
Hootsuite's public AI catalog lists hosted OAuth servers per product: Perch for publishing, Nest for the inbox, Lumen for analytics and listening, Parliament for employee advocacy. The plans grid lists MCP connectors on Standard, Professional and Advanced, and the Lumen connector on Enterprise only.
Pros
- Separate servers, so you can connect publishing without the inbox
- Covers listening and employee advocacy too
Cons
- The Lumen connector for analytics and listening is Enterprise only
- Priced per user and billed annually at the entry tier
Verdict: Wide product coverage for large teams; check which connectors your plan includes before you count on them.
Pricing: Standard $99 per user per month billed annually; 14-day free trial
8. Agorapulse
Agorapulse customers who want ChatGPT or Claude to draft content
Agorapulse's pricing page says you can connect ChatGPT or Claude with an Agorapulse self-hosted MCP to create and optimize social content, and lists it on every plan. It does not publish the sign in method or the actions.
Pros
- Works with both ChatGPT and Claude
- A long free trial to test it
Cons
- Few public details on sign in and actions
- Priced per user
Verdict: Worth asking about if you already use Agorapulse; too little public detail to choose it for the MCP alone.
Pricing: Standard $99 per user per month billed monthly ($79 billed yearly); 30-day free trial, no card
9. Postiz
Developers who want open source code and a hosted MCP
Postiz hosts an OAuth server with official connectors in Claude's directory and in ChatGPT, says it supports 30+ platforms, and includes MCP, a CLI and an API on every plan. The code is open source under AGPL-3.0.
Pros
- Open source and self hostable
- MCP, CLI and API on every plan
Cons
- No free hosted plan
- Self hosting means you run updates and network credentials yourself
Verdict: The natural pick for developers who want to own the stack.
Pricing: Standard $29 per month ($23 billed yearly) up to Ultimate $99; 7-day free trial; open source code to self host
10. Zernio
Developers and agents that need the whole API through MCP
Zernio is a social media API with a hosted server at mcp.zernio.com. OAuth or an API key for unattended agents; it can call every API endpoint, from posts and DMs to ads and analytics, with most tools found through tool search.
Pros
- Usage based pricing with 2 free accounts
- Covers DMs and ads as well as posts
Cons
- Built for developers more than marketing teams
- Most tools sit behind a search step rather than in the visible list
Verdict: Strong for builders wiring social posting into their own agents or products.
Pricing: First 2 accounts free (no card), then $6 per account per month for accounts 3 to 10, $3 for 11 to 100, $1 beyond
11. Blotato
Creators who want an assistant to publish content across networks
Blotato's hosted server offers 35 tools across nine networks through official APIs. Claude signs in with OAuth; other clients use an API key header. As Blotato puts it, Claude can write a post but cannot publish one alone.
Pros
- OAuth sign in for Claude
- Works in Cursor, Codex, Antigravity and Replit with an API key
Cons
- No free plan, and the trial does not include API or MCP access
- Generating an API key ends the trial
Verdict: Fine once you are a paying Blotato customer; you cannot test the MCP for free.
Pricing: Starter $29 per month; 7-day trial with a card, without API or MCP access
12. Ayrshare
Developers building products on a social media API
Ayrshare's server drives its API: publish posts, fetch history and analytics, manage comments, DMs and profiles. It accepts only an API key, sent as a header, so Ayrshare documents it for developer tools such as Claude Code, Cursor and n8n.
Pros
- The full Ayrshare API behind one server
- Comments, DMs and analytics as well as posting
Cons
- API key only, no OAuth sign in
- Priced for businesses building on an API, not for one brand
Verdict: A developer tool first: excellent for products, overkill for a single brand's posting.
Pricing: Premium $149 per month, Launch $299 (28-day free trial), Business from $599
13. SocialPilot
Agencies on SocialPilot that want an assistant on every plan
SocialPilot lists an MCP server integration on every plan and names Claude, ChatGPT, Perplexity and Cursor among the assistants it works with. The plans page does not detail the sign in method or the actions.
Pros
- On every plan, from the low priced Essentials
- Also publishes to Bluesky, Threads and Google Business Profile
Cons
- Few public details on sign in and actions
- No free plan
Verdict: Worth a look for budget agencies; check the actions in a trial before you rely on them.
Pricing: Essentials $20 per month ($17 billed annually) up to Ultimate $200 ($170); 14-day trial with no card
14. Zoho Social
Teams already on Zoho apps
Zoho Social's MCP server is created through Zoho MCP at mcp.zoho.com and exposes 31 Zoho Social tools. It needs an active Zoho Social account.
Pros
- Sits alongside servers for other Zoho apps
- A low entry price
Cons
- Set up through Zoho MCP rather than a single public URL
- The free plan cannot schedule posts
Verdict: A natural fit if your business already runs on Zoho.
Pricing: Standard $15 per month ($10 billed yearly) up to Agency Plus $460 ($330); the free plan has no scheduling
15. Planoly
Visual planners who use Claude
Planoly's connector for Claude runs at mcp.planoly.com and, as Planoly describes it, can publish to every network you connected. Planoly does not say which plans include it.
Pros
- A Claude connector from an Instagram-first planner
- Low entry price
Cons
- Only Claude is documented
- Plan coverage is not stated
Verdict: Handy if you already plan in Planoly and use Claude; confirm your plan includes it.
Pricing: Starter $16 per month ($14 billed annually); Growth $28 ($24); Pro $55 ($47); free tier in the mobile app
Frequently asked questions
- Does Buffer have an MCP server?
- Yes. Buffer runs an official MCP server on every plan, Free included, for Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and other clients. It is one of several: on 22 October 2026 we counted fifteen social media tools with an official MCP server or connector, including Metricool, Publer, Hootsuite and Postify.
- Is there an Instagram MCP server?
- Not from Instagram itself that we could find. The practical route is a social media tool whose MCP server has an approved Instagram connection, such as Buffer, Metricool, Publer or Postify. The assistant asks the tool to post, and the tool publishes through Instagram's official API.
- Do I need a developer to set one up?
- Not for OAuth servers: you paste a URL into Claude or ChatGPT, sign in, and start asking. API key servers, such as Ayrshare's or Zernio's key mode, are easier from developer tools like Claude Code or Cursor, where a config file holds the key.
- Can an MCP server post without my approval?
- It can, depending on the assistant and the tool. Claude asks before tools that change things unless you choose to always allow them, and ChatGPT may ask before actions. Some tools, such as Planable, only create drafts, so a person must approve every post.
- Which social media MCP servers work with ChatGPT?
- Buffer, Metricool (developer mode), Publer, Planable, Vista Social, Hootsuite, Agorapulse, Postiz, Zernio and Blotato document ChatGPT. Postify works through ChatGPT's custom server flow but is not yet confirmed end to end. OpenAI lists custom MCP connections for Business, Enterprise and Edu workspaces.
Sources
- Model Context Protocol: introduction (checked October 22, 2026)
- Buffer: MCP server (checked October 22, 2026)
- Buffer: pricing (checked October 22, 2026)
- Metricool: MCP (checked October 22, 2026)
- Metricool: pricing (checked October 22, 2026)
- Publer Help: how to set up and use the Publer MCP server (checked October 22, 2026)
- Publer: plans (checked October 22, 2026)
- Planable: MCP (checked October 22, 2026)
- Planable: pricing (checked October 22, 2026)
- Vista Social: what is MCP (checked October 22, 2026)
- Vista Social: pricing (checked October 22, 2026)
- Hootsuite: homepage (MCP connectors) (checked October 22, 2026)
- Hootsuite: AI catalog of MCP servers (checked October 22, 2026)
- Hootsuite: plans (checked October 22, 2026)
- Agorapulse: pricing (checked October 22, 2026)
- Postiz: MCP (checked October 22, 2026)
- Postiz: pricing (checked October 22, 2026)
- Postiz: source code and AGPL-3.0 license (checked October 22, 2026)
- Zernio: MCP docs (checked October 22, 2026)
- Zernio: pricing (checked October 22, 2026)
- Blotato: MCP (checked October 22, 2026)
- Blotato: pricing (checked October 22, 2026)
- Ayrshare: MCP server (checked October 22, 2026)
- Ayrshare: pricing (checked October 22, 2026)
- Claude Help Center: custom connectors using remote MCP (checked October 22, 2026)
- OpenAI Help Center: connecting custom MCP servers in ChatGPT (checked October 22, 2026)
- SocialPilot: plans (checked October 22, 2026)
- Zoho Social: MCP (checked October 22, 2026)
- Zoho Social: pricing (checked October 22, 2026)
- Planoly: AI and Claude connector (checked October 22, 2026)
- Planoly: pricing (checked October 22, 2026)
- Later: pricing (checked October 22, 2026)
- Sprout Social: pricing (checked October 22, 2026)
- SocialBee: pricing (checked October 22, 2026)
Put Postify to work on your calendar
Postify supports nine platforms in one workflow: plan, schedule, and publish without juggling five different tools.